Annual General Meeting Draft minutes

UK-TUG

14:00, 31st October 2015 Trinity College, Oxford

Members present: Kaveh Bazargan (KB), David Carlisle (DC), Simon Dales (SD), Jonathan Fine (JF), Jay Hammond (JH), Peter Kirby (PK), Eddie Mizzi (EM), Phil Molyneux (PM), Brent Longborough (BL), Joseph Wright (JW)

Proxy votes received: James Clark, David Fussner, Charlie Goldie, Tony Harker, Gerry Keane, John Palmer, S. W. Rayment, Paul Smith, Nicola Talbot.

Apologies received: Paulo Cereda, Alan Clark, Alun Moon, Dick Nickalls, Arthur Reutenauer, John Peters.

1 Minutes of the last meeting

The minutes of the last AGM were agreed as a true record by all members present. One spelling mistake was observed in a member name: this was corrected.

2 Secretary's Report

JW summarised his written report verbally. This included details of the retirement of the UK CTAN node.

2.1 Accounts

JF asked that AGM and training course expenses be shown as separate items in future: to be passed on to the incoming Treasurer.

JH asked about the size of the UK-TUG balance and plans to use this. JW detailed some discussion between himself and John Peters (current Treasurer) focussed on the idea of one or more 'prizes' which could be used to allocate defined amounts of money. Several ideas were suggested in this area, for example running training sessions, promotion of T_EX use in the UK, *etc.* The incoming committee to consider these and encouraged by the meeting to implement ideas in this area.

JH asked about the provision for tax in the accounts. JW explained that while membership fees are usually regarded as members' own money and thus not taxable income, it is a sensible position to make provision for tax on income in case of a revision of the approach taken by HM Revenue and Customs.

3 Motions

3.1 Motion 1

That this meeting approves the accounts for 2014–15.

Votes: 19 for, o against, o abstained, passed.

3.2 Motion 2

That the membership fee for 2016 be £10 for all individual members (apart from life members), and that there be no additional entrance fee.

Votes: 18 for, 1 against, 0 abstained, passed.

4 Committee election

JW had received nominations to elect

- Simon Dales
- Jonathan Fine
- Brent Longborough
- John Peters
- Arthur Reutenauer
- Joseph Wright

to the Committee for 2015–16.

JW also noted that KB continues as Chair until the end of the next (2016) AGM.

5 Any other business

JF asked that the meeting thank the officers for their work: agreed by all present. The meeting closed at 14:25.