2015 TeX Users Group Election

The positions of TUG President and several members of the TUG Board of Directors will be open as of the TUG 2015 Annual Meeting.

The current President, Steve Peter, has stated his intention to step down, and the current Vice-President, Jim Hefferon, has stated his intention to run for President.

The TUG directors whose terms will expire in 2015: Barbara Beeton, Karl Berry, Susan DeMeritt, Michael Doob, Taco Hoekwater, Ross Moore, Cheryl Ponchin, Philip Taylor, Boris Veytsman.

Continuing directors, with terms ending in 2017: Kaja Christiansen, Steve Grathwohl, Jim Hefferon, Klaus Höppner, Arthur Reutenauer, David Walden.

The election to choose the new president and board members will be held in the spring of 2015. Nominations for these openings are now invited.

Nomination and election process

The TUG Bylaws provide that “Any member may be nominated for election to the office of TUG President/to the Board by submitting a nomination petition in accordance with the TUG Election Procedures. Election … shall be by written mail ballot of the entire membership, carried out in accordance with those same Procedures.” The term of President is two years, and the term of a Board member is four years.

The name of any member may be placed in nomination for election to one of the open offices by submission of a petition, supported by two other members in good standing, to the TUG office. The nomination form can be sent by postal mail, faxed, or scanned and submitted by email. Any or all of the supporting signatures can be sent separately, via any of those same methods, from the nomination form. Such a separate supporting signature should be on the same nomination form, left blank except for the candidate's name, printed name and signature of the supporter, and date.

You can download a printable nomination form (letter-size PDF, A4 PDF) or obtain a form from the TUG office.

Along with a nomination form, each candidate is asked to supply a short biography, a statement of intent, and (optional) passport-size photograph to be included with the ballot. The biography and statement of intent together may not exceed 400 words; sending these by email in plain ASCII or TeX is preferred, with the photo given as an attachment or url. Also, a candidate's membership dues for 2015 are expected to be paid by the nomination deadline.

The deadline for receipt at the TUG office of nomination forms and ballot information is 1 February 2015.

If there are more candidates than open positions, ballots will be mailed to all members within 30 days after the close of nominations. Marked ballots must be returned no more than six (6) weeks following the mailing; the exact dates will be noted on the ballots.

Ballots will then be counted by a disinterested party not part of the TUG organization. The results of the election should be available by late May, and will be announced in a future issue of TUGboat, on the TUG web site, and through various TeX-related electronic lists.

It is the intent of TUG that all wishing to participate in TUG elections do so. If you experience any problems with the election process—for example, if you have any questions about the nomination procedure or do not receive your ballot in a timely way—the TUG office or Election Committee would like to hear from you.

Kaja Christiansen
for the Elections Committee

Previous elections

For the record, announcements and information about previous elections is available: 2013, 2011, 2009, 2007, 2005, 2003, 2001, 1999, 1997.

$Date: 2014/11/14 00:11:32 $;
TUG home page; contact webmaster; facebook, twitter;   (via DuckDuckGo)